The Center for Research on Intelligent Perception and Computing, founded in 1998 by Prof. Tieniu Tan, is subordinated to NLPR (National Laboratory of Pattern Recognition). It has 18 research faculties, 19 project staffs and more than 55 students at present. The group has broad interests in computer vision and pattern recognition, especially in the following domains:

1. Intelligent visual computing
2. Intelligent video surveillance
3. Biometric acquisition and recognition
4. Cyber data understanding and security

The group consistently pursues high quality theoretical research and related practical applications. It has published more than 400 journal and conference papers, and released many research databases such as iris, gait, human action and tampered image detection. It won the champion of NICE. I & II (Noisy Iris Challenge Evaluation in 2009 and 2010), and ranked first and second in the PASCAL VOC 2010 on image object detection and image object classification, respectively. Meanwhile, many theoretical results have been successfully applied to public service, e.g., iris based human identity recognition, intelligent surveillance for resident communities, subway systems and the Olympic Games.

The group is currently undertaking significant research projects funded by the Chinese government (i.e., the Chinese National Key Basic Research Program, the National Natural Science Foundation of China, the Chinese National Hi-Tech Research and Development Program) and industrial companies (i.e., China Electronics Corporation, SAMSUNG and South Korea Telecom).


Main News
Events, Seminars and Publications are updated. May 20, 2015.
Prof. Tieniu Tan was elected as Fellow of Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS) in October 2014.
Prof. Tieniu Tan was elected as International Fellow of the UK Royal Academy of Engineering in September 2014
Prof. Liang Wang was elected as a Fellow of IAPR (International Association of Pattern Recognition) on September 2
Prof. Ran He won GUCAS Lu Jiaxi Young Talent Award in 2014
Dr.Wei Wang won Best paper in CVPR2014 DeepVision Workshop in 2014
Dr. Peihao Huang won Best student paper in ICPR2014
Dr. Junge Zhang won Excellent Doctoral Thesis Nomination of Chinese Association for AI, 2013.
Dr. Zifeng Wu et al. won the first award on BaiDu Image segmentation, 2013.
Mr. Yinya Zhang et al won ACPR2013 Best Poster Award, 2013.
Prof. Kaiqi Huang won NSFC-Outstanding Youth Science Fund, 2013